February 2019 Monthly Meeting

We are very pleased to announce that the new Chair of the San Diego Democratic Party, Will Rodriguez-Kennedy will come to introduce himself and answer a few questions.  At 31, Rodriguez-Kennedy is the youngest Chair in San Diego county history.  He is a U.S. Marine Veteran and previously served as the president of the California Young Democrats and San Diego Democrats for Equality.

The theme of this month's substantive program will be Housing and Transit. 


Officer elections:

The Nominations Committee, consisting of our past president (Tom Freeley) and two other members (Kathleen Krevat and Jacob Mandel) has met as required by Article IV, Section 3 of the bylaws and has nominated the following slate of officer candidates.

President: Lauren Macdonald
Vice President: Will Moore
Treasurer: Christina Nowacki
Secretary: Darlanne Hoctor Mulmat

(No other candidates have expressed an interest and no one had been nominated by a third-person at the time of this email.)

Election Procedure: At the February meeting, the floor will be open for additional nominations. The election may be held by show of hands or voice vote for uncontested offices. A secret ballot will be used for any contested offices. Those nominees who receive a majority vote shall be declared elected. If no person receives a majority of votes cast, a run-off shall be held between those two persons receiving the greatest number of votes. The person receiving the majority of the votes shall be declared elected."

Proposed Bylaws Amendments:

We will also vote on the three bylaws amendments that were proposed at the November meeting. The three amendments will be voted on separately.  An amendment will pass if it receives a majority vote.  The three proposed amendments (the changed language in blue) are:

Article III, Section 4 – Voting Eligibility and Abstentions - 


A member in good standing who has attended at least one prior meeting and who has been a fully paid member for the past 60 continuous days shall be eligible to vote. No proxy voting or absentee shall be permitted.  Abstentions shall not be counted towards or against the passage or opposition of any motion, endorsement or other vote.

See Article VI, Section 2 – Membership of EBoard

Membership of the Executive Board shall include the President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Parliamentarian, Membership Chair, immediate Past President and GoTEAM Coordinator.  all of the currently elected club officers, past president, and the then current Committee Chairs.

See Article VIII Section C – Endorsement threshold

A motion to endorse a candidate or take a position on a Proposition or public issue must receive the vote of seventy sixty percent (70%60%) of the Club members in good standing who are present and voting.

The existing bylaws can be found here.

We look forward to seeing you on Tuesday.

ps. If you think you're behind on annual dues, or want to join up officially (you might not have yet), you can take care of that super easily at https://www.cvdemclub.org/membership


February 26, 2019 at 6:00pm - 8pm
Carmel Valley Library
3919 Townsgate Dr
San Diego, CA 92130
United States
Google map and directions
Lauren Macdonald
Susan Lane Joanne McAllister Barbara Quinlan Bonnie Kaler Tricia Tellefsen Darlanne Mulmat michael Cava Tracey Chester Nividita Hegday Stephanie Allouche Michael Levinson Mike Engel

Will you come?